Cristiano Ronaldo ends Messi reign with Ballon d'Or win...

A tearful Cristiano Ronaldo paid tribute to the people behind him after he won the 2013 FIFA Ballon d'Or, beating Lionel Messi and Franck Ribéry to the world crown.

 Real Madrid CF and Portugal forward Cristiano Ronaldo has won the FIFA Ballon d'Or after he beat Lionel Messi and Franck Ribéry to the world crown.

Ronaldo was runner-up behind four-time winner Messi in 2009, 2011 and 2012 having taken the previous FIFA prize in 2008 (the last European to do so) but would not be denied again after an incredible 12 months.

He scored 69 goals in 59 games in all competitions and provided perhaps the standout performance of 2013 with his sensational hat-trick for Portugal against Sweden in the FIFA World Cup play-offs. He also set a new mark of nine goals in a UEFA Champions League group stage.

"First of all I have to say a great thanks to all of my team-mates with the club and the national team," said Ronaldo, fighting back the tears after collecting the award from Pelé.

Cristiano Ronaldo ends Messi Ballon dOr reign 2

"Without all of their efforts this would not have been possible. I am very happy. it is very difficult to win this award. Everybody that has been involved with me on a personal level I have to thank. My wife, my friends, my son. It is a tremendously emotional moment. All I can say is thank you to everybody that has been involved."

Jupp Heynckes won the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men's Football 2013, seeing off competition from fellow retiree Sir Alex Ferguson and Borussia Dortmund's Jürgen Klopp. Heynckes, of course, masterminded Bayern's incredible 2012/13 campaign, rewriting the record books as the Bavarian outfit claimed the treble, bowing out on a high as he stepped back from coaching. Compatriot Silvia Neid won the women's equivalent, with another German, Nadine Angerer, taking thewomen's best player award.

"I'm tremendously thankful to be here to pick up this award today," said the 68-year-old Heynckes. "It means a lot to pick up an award right at the end of my career. Normally in team sports it is often difficult to put things together like this. It isn't just down to me this is down to the whole club, Bayern, everybody that has been working with me during this period.

"We have been blessed with world class players and they produced amazing performances. The coaching staff have also lent their weight. I want to thank everybody that has pulled together and helped me to produce this winning team. Maybe ten years ago, I wouldn't even have dreamt of this. I am humbled and happy to be standing here. Thank you very much."

The FIFA Puskás Award for goal of the year was won by Zlatan Ibrahimović for his remarkable 35-metre overhead kick for Sweden against England in November 2012.

The FIFA/FIFPro World XI was also announced:
Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern München); Daniel Alves (FC Barcelona), Philipp Lahm (FC Bayern München), Thiago Silva (Paris Saint-Germain), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid CF); Xavi Hernández (FC Barcelona), Andrés Iniesta (FC Barcelona), Franck Ribéry (FC Bayern München); Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF), Zlatan Ibrahimović (Paris Saint-Germain).