You'll need 850 million to become NPP's Presidential Candidate...

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) rose from its National Council meeting on Friday announcing December 6, 2014, as the tentative date for the holding of the primary to elect a presidential candidate for the 2016 elections.

Ahead of that congress, the NPP had indicated also that it had opened nomination for the presidential aspirants to pick forms towards the primary. 

"At the said meeting held in Accra, the party's second highest decision-making body decided that pursuant to Article 12 of the Party's Constitution, notice is hereby given that nomination for the Party's Presidential Candidate for the 2016 General Election opens today, Friday June 6, 2014 and closes on 7 July, 2014," a statement issued and signed by Kwabena Agyepong, General Secretary, indicated.

According to the statement, nomination fee had been pegged at GH¢10,000 (100 million old cedis) as approved by the National Council, while filing fee goes for GH¢75,000 (750 million) bringing the total amount to GH¢85,000 (850 million)

The statement indicated that guidelines, rules and regulations for the conduct of the presidential primary were also approved. "Potential aspirants may pick nomination forms at the Party Headquarters, Asylum Down, Accra, the statement pointed out.

The National Council, the statement disclosed, would reconvene on June 19, 2014, to deliberate on other matters relating to the presidential primary.

However, DAILY GUIDE sources have indicated that the holding of the congress to elect the presidential candidate on December 6 was not a done deal as majority of members believed that it should be held earlier than that.

The finality of the congress date would be determined at the June 19 meeting of the Council in order to set the ball rolling for the primary. About 10 people have already expressed their interest in vying for the flagbearership slot.

They include twice standard bearer, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo and the man he has beaten two times at the primary level, Alan Kwadwo Kyeremateng. Both are the front runners.

Others are former Member of Parliament (MP) for Offinso-North, Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku, who headed the Security Committee for Nana Addo's campaign in the 2012 elections; his colleague former MP for Mfantseman West, Stephen Asamoa-Boateng, popularly known as Asabee and the MP for Asuogyaman, Kofi Osei Ameyaw.

The rest are the sitting 2nd Deputy Speaker of Parliament and MP for Essikado-Ketan, Joe Ghartey; his colleague MP for Subin, Isaac Osei; Mampong MP, Francis Addai Nimo; Nhyiaeso MP, Dr. Richard Anane and celebrated heart surgeon, Professor Dr. Kwabena Frimpong Boateng.

SOURCE: Daily Guide